Liebster & I

Saturday 29th March was Earth Hour.

Spending an hour in the dark, in the dim but pleasing glow of candlelight, I decided to abstain from the mountain of work I’m bashing through and finally get around to this thing I’d been putting off:

Liebster AwardWhile I don’t follow enough blogs to fit the criteria – and I’m more than aware it’s chain-mail, thank you for noticing – I feel somewhat obliged to at least answer the questions posed from the fencing Queen at The Playground and His Newly Engaged Majesty at AbsentElemental. Click on their names, and you’ll be taken to their version of this whole doolally thing, and 19 other sites they chose for the award. That sort makes up for it by proxy, right?

HAVE YOU SEEN ALEXANDER SKARSGÅRD IN TRUE BLOOD, AND IF NOT, WHY NOT?

Zoolander, actually, when he was considerably scrawnier. After the Twilight nightmare, and the rise in vampire shows, I avoided any fang-related shows/movies like the plaaague.

WOULD YOU RATHER FIGHT 100 DUCK-SIZED HORSES OR 1 HORSE-SIZED DUCK? WHAT’S YOUR FIRST PLAN OF DEFENSE?

Horse-sized duck and teach it to fly. Imagine the possibilities. Imagine…

THE OLYMPICS ARE JUST AROUND THE CORNER…BESIDES THE INEVITABLE RIOTS THAT WILL TAKE PLACE, WHAT ACTUAL OLYMPIC EVENT ARE YOU MOST LOOKING FORWARD TO?

Sweet Moses, I really did leave this thing a bit late. Well I am skier by trade, and I used to compete in the slalom races when I was younger. Hated every second of it – going downhill in a straight line was waaay more entertaining. That being said, I am in love with the Alpine Skiing and I’d give anything to test out their courses. Hardly surprising, given that I trained in – you guessed it – the French Alps.

HAVE YOU EVER DANCED WITH THE DEVIL IN THE PALE MOONLIGHT?

I went trick-or-treating in a Devil’s costume in the yellow street lamps UNDER pale moonlight – does that count?

IF YOU COULD HAVE ON FOOD ONLY, FOR THE REST OF YOUR LIFE, AND IT WOULDN’T BE BAD FOR YOU OR HAVE ANY ILL REPERCUSSIONS WHATSOEVER, WHAT WOULD IT BE?

SUSHI.

WHAT IS YOUR OWN PERSONAL FAVOURITE PIECE THAT YOU HAVE POSTED THAT DIDN’T GET NEARLY ENOUGH ATTENTION THE FIRST TIME AROUND, THAT YOU WOULD LIKE TO TAKE THIS OPPORTUNITY TO PLUG?

Weeell I have a section above called Absolute Belters (in my opinion) for that reason alone. However, the most recent one I’d say would be Karen Blixen: My Kind of Lady. In it, there’s this letter from her autobiography that completely took my breath away. I’ve been sharing that letter ever since I found it, hence the blog post in the first place. It’s very short, honest!

IF YOU WERE A DESERT ISLAND, WHAT BOOK WOULD YOU BE? (Yup, you read that right…just trying to mix up a standard question and get your creative juices flowing).

I would be a slice of Tolkien pie, find my own Winged-Nazgûl and fly around Middle Earth scaring people into thinking the war had started. What? The horse sized-duck needs a friend.

HAVE YOU EVER PLAYED WITH A OUIJA BOARD? THINK IT WORKED?

Nein. The voices talk to me regardless.

WHAT’S THE ODDEST JOB YOU’VE EVER HAD…YOU KNOW THE ONE THAT YOU DID BECAUSE YOU WERE YOUNG AND NEEDED THE MONEY?

Hitman.

Probably being a script reader (as of a week ago today). It’s amazing what can be commissioned, I tell you.

WHAT STAR WARS CHARACTER ARE YOU AND WHY?

Alec Guinness.

Need I say more?


That was fun…

Earth Hour 2014.

Earth Hour 2014.

See you next week for Part Two!

7 thoughts on “Liebster & I

  1. Nazgul are pussies: Scene: Weathertop by night. Five Nazgul v. 4 stumpies and a guy with a broken sword. Result? “Look, I definitely wounded him, I say we all bugger off to the ford by Rivendell, and, um, wait.”

    • Simmer down to a disco, Mooney. Next you’ll be saying why didn’t Gandalf call on the Eagles sooner and have this thing done inside a week.

      I think that’s a typo on my part, anyways, I meant the Winged-Nazgûl.

    • Aaah! That’s amazing! Shame they’re such lazy bastards, though. …Not that I’m saying I endorse panda wrestling. That would be bad of me.

      • If I hear tell of such a league, I’m going to presume it’s you.

        I mean if the pandas getting a migraine from our zoo can make the news, the setting up of something like this would drive the panda-fans nuts. Don’t even get me started on that fecking Panda-Cam – you’d think pandas doing nothing but sleeping all day was a breakthrough on animal behaviours.

  2. Pingback: Liebster & I, Again | Laidig's Broadway

Thoughts?

