Liebster & I, Again

Ooo, atmospheric.

Ooo, atmospheric.

 Looking out my window on Monday, as the Edinburgh haar rolled in for a second day, I doubted the news reports suggesting weather hotter than the French Riviera was due this coming week. See, the fun thing about living close to a port is the view from Arthur’s Seat. The downside…is the port.

But, through the hanging mist, I returned to part two of this Liebster thang, questions posed by The Playground and AbsentElemental. And other haar pictures. If you want to see the first half, click Part One.

WHAT IS YOUR EARLIEST MEMORY?

It’s between either my 1st/2nd birthday (if I could remember the shape of the candle I’d know which) or my first nightmare. I had a lot of nightmares when I was younger, and I remember every single one of them.

WHAT DO YOU CONSIDER TO BE THE BIGGEST SCIENTIFIC BREAKTHROUGH OF ALL TIME?

Yikes. I’ll keep it within my life time, that narrows down the field a bit. I’d say the HIV cure that’s still in the experimental stages is a pretty big deal. My initial answer was going to be motion capture, if I’m completely honest. That’s kind of science.

WHAT IS YOUR FAVOURITE COLOUR? WHY?

Red. I like red.

IF YOU COULD PICK ONE CITY TO LIVE IN FOR THE REST OF YOUR LIFE, WHERE WOULD YOU CHOOSE?

Given that I’ve probably more travelling before the age of 10 than most people would achieve in their entire lives, I don’t really have a yearning to live anywhere else but Edinburgh. I would like to return to Chicago at some point. Can’t help feeling it won’t have changed since I was last there in the mid-nineties, but you never know.

WHAT IS YOUR FAVOURITE VIDEO GAME?

Oooooooooo Super Mario. Or Pokémon. I mean Batman Lego 1 and 2 have seriously changed my perspective on life, but now that I think about in a rational and totally calm manner, the Arkham series. Don’t look at me like that, you asked for my favourite game, and I gave you one.

IF YOU COULD GO BACK IN TIME AND CHANGE ONE THING ABOUT YOUR LIFE, WHAT WOULD YOU PICK?

Find a way of ensuring this question never popped up. It completely goes against the way I view life. Just to get a bit wanky for a second, I live life by experience. When you do something really stupid and say “If I could turn the clocks back and change what I did so this would never have happened” that just isn’t realistic, and you’re not being true to who you are. If you could change what you did, you would never learn anything, would you? Yeah. So shut up.

 

Ooo, ambience.

Ooo, ambience.

WHAT’S THE IDEAL TEMPERATURE FOR YOUR HOME?

I live in Scotland. What is ‘temperature’?

WHAT IS YOUR FAVOURITE MOVIE EVER?

Oooh that isn’t fair. Star Wars was my life growing up, preceded by Wizard of Oz (c-c-c-combo breaker!). LOTR came along. As did Kiss Kiss Bang Bang

I offer Beowulf as my favourite movie to hate on in place of all the aforementioned.

WHY DID YOU START YOUR BLOG?

To empty my head. Seriously, it gets so crowded in there, I’m amazed it doesn’t short-circuit more often.

WHAT IS THE EARLIEST ACCEPTABLE DATE FOR PEOPLE TO START HANGING CHRISTMAS LIGHTS?

Never. There is a house in a town maybe 15 minutes away from me that looks like B&Q just vomited light-up outdoor decorations in the front garden. Unless you mean indoors, in which case I say the first day of the Advent Calendar is fine by me. Make it last, I say.

Although… Well, in my home during term-time, that’s ok. But at my family home, it’s a recipe for disaster. Usually within the first hour of the tree and other decorations going up, at least 5 baubles are already being chased up the hall by a fluffy thing with a tail, adamant on becoming the first feline footballer. They’re usually rediscovered around February – by her or myself – under beds, in shoes and, the most recent of them all, in a basket that lived in the kitchen for about five years, which has now been moved through to the living room. I think we disturbed one of her hidey places.

SHOWER OR BATH? WHY?

For years, shower. And then one day I wasn’t feeling great, didn’t want a shower but wanted something just as cosy, and fell for a bath again. I’d still say I’m a shower person, but baths are just so much lovelier to unwind with.


Last picture? Go on then.

Ooo, nighttime.

Ooo, nighttime.

 Thank you for the nominations, you two!

3 thoughts on “Liebster & I, Again

    • You’re very welcome, sir. I adore Pokémon, but it’s so addictive for me, and I’ve worked very hard to stay away from it largely because, as soon as a I start a game, I drop out of existence for about a week to complete it.

      • I’m pretty much the same way. My insistence on working excessive hours makes that much less realistic, though I’ll still do that for time to time. Same goes for playing Civilization V.

Thoughts?

