[mask] Chaos #2

Harley

Laidig's Broadway - Harley #2Now, more than ever, I realise many things are destined to stagnation. Politics, hunger, war – these forms of organised chaos crave conformity and constancy. There is more than enough money in the world to solve financial poverty. There is food aplenty to end world hunger. The ordinary people outweigh the few who rule our nations. And there are destructive arms in abundance to kiss the universe goodnight.

So what do we do? Send aid to those in need, and be criticised for misplacing resources. Send nothing, ignore it, and you become a heartless coward. I leave my building, hoping to shake my brain of these thoughts. But with every step as I pass the fellow nomads of the city, through their homes in the underpasses, the thoughts take a stronger hold, engulfing my mind in a never-ending tirade of noise.

Why do these people have no home?
Why does no one help them?

In my mind, I obsess over their existence, but when I see them I look away. It doesn’t omit them from reality, so why do I pretend it does? But then…

Why do I have a home?
Why can I get help when I need it?

If I struggle, I want people to look. Those that don’t must be heartless cowards. Cowards with homes, with access, warmth, security. Maybe instead of giving everyone sanctuary, we should remove it. Chaos creates community, community rebuilds humanity, and humanity is in a dire need of an upgrade.

Well, if the authorities won’t do anything, someone has to light the match. How else can we make our voices heard?


Welcome to round two with the Harley mask, and developing story. I still have no idea where I’m going with this, I just know I’m enjoying the expansion each week. Also, apologies if this came a little late – yesterday we drove from Chicago to MI. I currently feel like I’m in a low-budget Interstellar, chasing the time zones of the world but knowing I’ll never get anything back.

5 thoughts on “[mask] Chaos #2

  1. And yet, chaos does not necessarily lead to strengthening of community and establishment of justice. So often it is those who are most disadvantaged are the most hurt in social chaos, and history is filled with examples of revolutions begun with high-minded ideals that have done little but to install a different set of people in positions of power and recreate the injustices of the previous order.

    Creating a society in which hunger and deprivation are things of the past and peace and well-being are for everyone requires both developing the spiritual and moral values and qualities that community depends on, but also on redesigning social systems and structures.The problems are complex, and I think can only be found through systematic and persistent effort, and by calls that engage an ever-increasing group of people in addressing social issues thoughtfully, rather than thoughts and actions that pit people against one another.

    • Firstly: thank you for your thoughts! A lot of truth in your words. Personally, I find it a fascinating topic to explore, not least because a lot of riots/unrest/protests in the last few years (stateside and UK primarily come to mind). A lot of what fuelled those was not the initial impetus – take London. The killing of a man was the catalyst. The looting, arson and attacks on the lives of authorities, spreading to boroughs and other cities, had absolutely nothing to do with the man’s death, rather a series of people jumping on the bandwagon, looking for a party and bragging rights. There was a broad suggestion that, afterwards, these were also people who felt disenfranchised/disconnected to their community – looting and burning a retail store is one thing; doing the same to buildings that survived the world wars and housed residents above it, threatened people’s sense of security within their own homes, suggests something else entirely.

      “Thoughts and actions that pit people against one another” – that bit of your comment seems to really stand out to me (in a good way!), usually because that’s where unrest stems from: us vs them. And it’s always the inevitable starting point, too: we’re right, they’re wrong, and very little room in between for anything else. I wish I could adequately respond to why I really like that part of your comment, but this is the best I can do right now :)

      • Thank you. I was watching broadcasts about both the Baltimore rioting and the Nepal earthquake and the response to it as I wrote, so that response was also on my mind. It is so easy to fall into the us vs them mindset or to simplify complex issues into twitter-sized slogans. There is terrible injustice in the world, and I can understand the anger that fuels that response. But it takes so much more to build than it does to destroy. And my own experience has been that the majority of people, even those in positions of privilege, do want to address injustices when invited in the right way.

  2. I think I like this mask better than the first one. Not to say the first one wasn’t well done, mind you, however I have a preference for this one.

    • Why thank you, sir. It’s a very deliberate progression – the boldness in the mask, and also the story. Zero idea where it’s going, just enjoying the ride.

Thoughts?

